Mid-State Technical College is monitoring the power outage situation. Please check back for more information regarding potential campus closures.
Age Requirements for Enrollment
Whenever possible Mid-State welcomes students of all ages that adhere to Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction education statutes and policies.
Programs may possess age criteria for admission based on licensing/certification requirements. All students who seek to enroll at Mid-State are subject to the course prerequisites and program admission requirements as outlined in the program information guides and Student Handbook.
Mid-State's Age-Related Policies
- A student age 18 and older may attend Mid-State courses and programs at anytime during the day if they have met the applicable prerequisite or program admission requirements. Attendance during the school day for students enrolled in public/private schools can be done with the written permission of the school principal and the parent/guardian.
- A student between the ages of 16-18 may not attend the LiNK classes during the day without an approved contract from their school district (unless his/her high school class has already graduated), but may do so after 4:00 p.m. without a contract.
- A high school student between the ages of 16-18 may attend undergraduate day classes with written consent from the parent/guardian and the high school principal.
- A student under the age of 16, with the prior written consent of their parent, may attend night classes at Mid-State (beginning and after 4:00 p.m.) for secondary non-required courses or post-secondary courses for which they meet the pre-requisites.
- A home-schooled child age 16-17 may attend Mid-State during the school day (with the prior written consent of their parent) or in the evenings for secondary non-required courses or post-secondary courses for which they meet the prerequisites.
- A home-schooled child age 18 or older that has completed high school may attend any Mid-State classes at any point during the school day.
Exceptions and considerations
Students under 16 years of age may not be allowed to enroll in certain courses due to safety, certification, or policy requirements. Classes involving hands-on applications for skill development in areas identified as hazardous in Chapter 70 Wisconsin Code (Ind. 70.03(3e)). Hazardous areas include use of hoisting apparatus, logging, motor vehicle drivers and outside helpers, use of firearms, manufacturing or processing, etc. Students under 18 years of age will not be able to participate in the following courses: nursing core, fire training, and police academy training.
- A home-schooled child age 17 or younger may not attend the LiNK classes during the day, but may do so after 4:00 p.m.
- Home-schooled students are not eligible for federal financial aid until completion of their high school degree.
- The individual will not be permitted to attend Mid-State courses that take place during the hours of the normal school day established under Wisconsin Compulsory Attendance laws.
Under age 16
Students under the age of 16 are required to have the written permission of his/her parent or guardian before enrolling at Mid-State. (A signed and dated letter from the parent or guardian should accompany the registration form.)