Mid-State student Brandie Sedwick reading aloud from her runner-up submission in the essay category, “A Nurse’s Narrative: Being Prepared,” at the Wisconsin Writers Connect event on the College’s Stevens Point Campus on April 29.
May 1, 2019

Mid-State Technical College celebrates winners of annual Write on the Money contest

May 1, 2019

Mid-State Technical College recently announced the winners of its second-annual student writing contest, “Write on the Money.” In the research paper category, Alaina Irving, Pre-Nursing student from Plover, took first place with “Cut the Cards, Cut the Debt.” Colette Stoflet, Administrative Professional student from Plover was named runner up with “Pet Peeves or Positive Pets.” In the essay category, Dwayne Dino Ortiz Jr., Corrections & Community Advocacy student from Stevens Point, took first place with “Moments of Change.” Brandie Sedwick, Accounting student from Marshfield, was named runner up with “A Nurse’s Narrative: Being Prepared.” 

This year’s contest drew submissions from 13 student students in the research paper category and 26 in the essay category. The winners were presented with their awards by renowned Wisconsin authors and contest judges Jerry Apps and David McGlynn and at the College’s April 29 Wisconsin Writers Connect event. Winners also had the opportunity to join the featured authors in giving readings of their own work at the event.

Sedwick’s decision to enter the contest was motivated by her desire to drive her photography business to greater success, much like her choice to enter the Accounting program at Mid-State. “I’ve always been a creative person and something of a writer, but I never really put myself out there before in a contest like this,” she said. “Obviously, we all hope to win when we enter a competition, but I was nervous about it, so when I got the call, it was even bigger.”

Write on the Money was organized by Mid-State General Education Instructor Anne Pawlak and Communication Instructor Jill Quinn. “It's exciting to see that our winners and runners up represent four different program areas at the College—Corrections & Community Advocacy, Nursing, Administrative Professional, and Accounting,” said Quinn. “I was also able to use the essays of the judges in my English composition classes, and the winners and their classmates were able to listen to and converse with those writers in person at the reading. We look forward to bringing together student writers with published writers each year through the contest and reading.”

Finalists in the research paper category included Maria Buss, Stevens Point; Jodi Irving, Stevens Point; Alicia Jensen, Stevens Point; Lisa Leach, Bancroft; Tiffany Marshall, Wisconsin Rapids; Stanley Olszewski, Plover; Nate Ruiz, Stevens Point and Kenneth Stubbendick, Arpin. The essay category finalists included Maria Buss, Stevens Point; Janet Detert, Wisconsin Rapids; Christina Klein, Port Edwards; Joelle Lemke, Wisconsin Rapids; Tiffany Marshall, Wisconsin Rapids; Emily Pumper, Milladore; Joanna Rodriquez, Stevens Point and Tracy VanMeter, Nekoosa.